Child

Another one on the confusion of the ‘not enough/too much’ hoopla. I think there was some alcohol involved, judging by the structure (and my handwriting).

CHILD

You are odd
A mere child

Is it not enough
That I will stand with you?
And as you walk I walk
Not to lead you
Not to trail you

Did you not see me as I DID stand
I stood beside you, I was with you
That time. I walked when
You walked. Your equal made
A choice. Your equal always
Chose you.

But you did not choose
You did not choose to
Stand with me as my equal
You did not choose to
Walk my pace either
You did not choose to
Hold the line that held us.

So you are a mere child
Stumbling in the grown-up world
Seeing monsters in the dark
Because it is not enough for you
To choose the child who chose you.
Maybe it is too much.

Leave a Reply

